Math Whizzes Compete In Annual MATHCOUNTS Contest

Friday February 9, 2024

The annual MATHCOUNTS competition brought together some of the brightest young minds in mathematics as sixth- through eighth-grade students gathered on Friday, Feb. 2, to showcase their exceptional problem-solving skills.

The event at CSU Bakersfield saw an impressive turnout of students from various middle schools, all vying for top honors in this challenging mathematics competition. MATHCOUNTS is a nationwide program that aims to inspire excellence, confidence, and curiosity in middle school students through fun and challenging math problems.

Participants faced a series of rigorous rounds that tested their abilities in areas such as algebra, geometry, probability, and number theory. The competition is known for its fast-paced countdown round, where contestants have seconds to solve complex problems.

As the rounds progressed, tension in the room heightened, with students furiously scribbling calculations on their notepads. The audience, consisting of proud parents, teachers, and fellow students, erupted in applause each time a correct answer was announced.

Dave Lee earned this year’s top rank.

Dave Lee, an 8th grader at Warren Junior High School, showcased remarkable prowess throughout the competition. He earned the top rank this year. He and his fellow teammates from Warren qualified for the state competition to be held next month.

“I’ve worked so hard to achieve this accomplishment. Math was always my most enjoyed subject in school,” said Lee. “I loved the feeling of working through the process and finally getting the solution.”

2024 Results – TOP TWENTY RANKS

1 – Dave Lee – Earl Warren Junior High
2 – Ronak Bose – Earl Warren Junior High
3 – Anjali Kakarla – Earl Warren Junior High
4 – Bryan Moe – Earl Warren Junior High
5 – Ansh Patel – Earl Warren Junior High
6 – Akshaya Behara – St. John’s Lutheran
7 – Wenhao Jia – Earl Warren Junior High
8 – Kaitlyn Huynh – Earl Warren Junior High
9 – Tayden Ahan – Earl Warren Junior High
10 – Brooke Porter – Non-School Competitor

11 – Dhruv Reddy – St. John’s Lutheran
12 – Alan Taing – St. John’s Lutheran
13 – Samantha Ashley – Stockdale Elementary
14 – Sidhdeep Bhari – St. John’s Lutheran
15 – William Picato – Stonecreek Junior High
16 – Isaac Uriarte – Earl Warren Junior High
17 – Shalini Danamudi – St. John’s Lutheran
18 – John Wise – Tevis Junior High
19 – Ariana Medina – Tevis Junior High
20 – Anjali Leyva – Earl Warren Junior High

By Robert Meszaros

By Robert Meszaros

Rob Meszaros is Director of Communications for the Kern County Superintendent of Schools, where he has served since 2012. In his role, Meszaros oversees media relations, internal and external communication strategies, publications, Marcom, branding, and multi-media content creation. Before joining KCSOS, Meszaros was the PIO for CSU Bakersfield and earlier worked for seven years at The Bakersfield Californian.