Ten Kern Schools Named as California Distinguished Schools

Thursday February 29, 2024

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond today announced that 293 middle schools and high schools have been selected for the prestigious 2024 California Distinguished Schools Program. The recognition program recognizes two categories of exceptional schools: those closing the achievement gap and those demonstrating exceptional student performance.

Ten Kern County school were honored:

Chipman Junior High 
(Bakersfield City School District)

Paul L. Cato Middle 
(Bakersfield City School District)

Cesar E. Chavez High 
(Delano Joint Union High School District)

Fruitvale Junior High 
(Fruitvale Elementary School District)

A. M. Thomas Middle
(Lost Hills Union Elementary School District)

Earl Warren Junior High 
(Panama-Buena Vista Union School District)

O. J. Actis Junior High
(Panama-Buena Vista Union School District)

Tevis Junior High 
(Panama-Buena Vista Union School District)

Rio Bravo-Greeley Elementary 
(Rio Bravo-Greeley Union Elementary School District)

Wasco High
(Wasco Union High School District)

The exceptional middle and high schools recognized this year are illustrative of the persistence and promise of California’s students, educators, and schools. To select California Distinguished Schools, the CDE uses multiple measures to identify eligible schools based on their performance on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard.

Specifically, schools were selected by analyzing data reported through the 2023 Dashboard, with a focus on demonstrating excellence and growth in academic achievement and ensuring a positive school climate.

Schools are recognized for exceptional student performance based on achieving exemplary performance in English Language Arts (ELA) and math, reducing suspensions, and demonstrating high graduation rates (high schools only).

Schools recognized for closing the achievement gap enroll at least 40 percent of their students from socioeconomically disadvantaged backgrounds and, in addition to demonstrating exemplary overall performance in ELA and math, achieve accelerated academic growth for one or more historically underserved student groups.

Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.

By Robert Meszaros

By Robert Meszaros

Rob Meszaros is Director of Communications for the Kern County Superintendent of Schools, where he has served since 2012. In his role, Meszaros oversees media relations, internal and external communication strategies, publications, Marcom, branding, and multi-media content creation. Before joining KCSOS, Meszaros was the PIO for CSU Bakersfield and earlier worked for seven years at The Bakersfield Californian.